Random, musings

Copenhagen

cop

This weekend I came across this American indie movie called Copenhagen. It came out in 2014. In short, this movie is a story of an immature bloke, William, who travels to Europe and  finds himself at a crossroads in Copenhagen. Not just another beautiful European city, Copenhagen is also the birthplace of his father. When William meets pretty local girl Effy, they set off on an adventure to find his grandfather. Effy’s mix of youthful exuberance and wisdom challenges William like no woman ever has…(Rotten Tomatoes).

I randomly found it on my Netflix. And I must say, it is an interesting flick. I personally liked it because it beautifully captures emotions and a sudden change of personality and perspective of protagonist because of an interaction with another person in a foreign land. Like how everything is changing, even if we don’t notice it!

There is this Danish track I REALLY loved : Vi To Er Smeltet Sammen by Stoffer & Maskinen. Worth a listen!

One of the main characters, Effy (Frederikke Dahl Hansen) sings this one at a karaoke. Check it out here . She is amazing! I think it is her own voice. Really raw and sweet.

And there is a dialogue that swayed me. Effy narrates an incident and explains something about a perfect relationship to William and his friend :

“I’m telling him a story about Skagen. It’s in the north of the country where the two oceans meet. I went there once with my mother. She was sad because her boyfriend left, and I was sad because I had a fight with my best friend. So she brought me to the end of the beach and then she pointed to the right where the Baltic Sea is. It’s a very beautiful and very blue sea; the current travels west. Then she pointed to the left to the North Sea; also a very beautiful and blue sea, but the current travels east. Then she pointed to the middle and she said that that is the perfect relationship… You look to the left and you look to the right, and both seas are there. And they can meet in the middle, but they never lose themselves in each other. They are always themselves no matter what.”

It just kept on playing in my head.

And movie is worth a watch!

Leave a Reply

